Stone Temple Pilots

Centre In The Square 

Stone Temple Pilots (STP) is an American rock band that rose to prominence in the 1990s. Formed in San Diego, California, in 1989, the band consists of members Dean DeLeo (guitar), Robert DeLeo (bass guitar), Eric Kretz (drums), and various lead vocalists over the years, including Scott Weiland, Chester Bennington, and Jeff Gutt.

Stone Temple Pilots gained mainstream success with their debut album, "Core," released in 1992. The album featured hits like "Plush," "Creep," and "Sex Type Thing," which helped establish the band as one of the leading acts of the alternative rock movement of the early 1990s.

Throughout the 1990s, Stone Temple Pilots continued to release successful albums, including "Purple" (1994), "Tiny Music... Songs from the Vatican Gift Shop" (1996), and "No. 4" (1999). Their music often combined elements of grunge, hard rock, and psychedelic rock, showcasing the band's versatility and songwriting prowess.

Despite achieving commercial success, Stone Temple Pilots faced internal struggles and changes in lineup, particularly due to lead singer Scott Weiland's battles with substance abuse. Weiland was eventually dismissed from the band, and Chester Bennington of Linkin Park briefly served as the lead vocalist before returning to his main band. In 2017, Jeff Gutt became the band's new lead vocalist.

Stone Temple Pilots' music has left a significant impact on the rock music scene, influencing countless artists and earning them a dedicated fan base worldwide. Their sound is characterized by powerful guitar riffs, melodic hooks, and introspective lyrics that explore themes of addiction, relationships, and self-discovery.

Despite facing challenges over the years, Stone Temple Pilots continue to create music and tour, maintaining their status as one of the most influential rock bands of the past few decades.